Heritage congregation traces its birth to 1968 when members of Hiawatha Lutheran Church of Minneapolis began holding services at a junior high school in suburban Burnsville.  Hiawatha pastor C. Wosje served this group, followed by Rev. F. Weyland.  The congregation was formally organized in 1971 as a mission congregation of the Evangelical Lutheran Synod and joined the synod that same year.  The original church building, now used as a multi-purpose room, was built and dedicated in 1973.  In 1995 the present worship sanctuary was added.  In 2008 additional school rooms, gymnasium, and entry narthex were added.

Heritage congregation has been served by the following pastors:

  • Erling Teigen 1970-1977
  • Howard Behrens 1977-1980
  • Steve Petersen 1980-1984
  • Roger Dale 1984-1992
  • David Hoyord 1993-2003
  • Karl Anderson 2003 to present